2 6
Reviews

NORDOST TYR X1 UMBILICAL FOR CH PRECISION COMPONENTS

“the sonic shift was as obvious as it was immediately apparent…the acoustic is bigger, with greater depth and presence and a blacker background…The bass goes deeper and with significantly greater weight and power…There’s more presence, body, energy and sense of ‘bowing’ in the strings…when the piano enters its sound is impressively dimensional, crisp and definite…These differences are neither small nor musically insignificant.”

READ MORE

Publication:  GY8
Date: May 2022
Reviewer: Roy Gregory

NORDOST HEIMDALL 2 TONEARM CABLE+ REVIEW

…a definite step-up from what the Blue Heaven Tonearm Cable+ was capable of. With the Heimdall 2 Tonearm Cable+, the music appeared more immediate and distinctly layered while remaining remarkably cohesive.

READ MORE

Publication: StereoNET
Date: March 3, 2022
Reviewer: Jay Garrett

NORDOST NORSE 2 BI WIRE JUMPERS

The Norse 2 [Bi-Wire Jumper]…matches its task very well, offering all the refinement you would expect from a set of high-end cables and so is a sensible upgrade to the metal links fitted to so many speakers . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Hi-Fi Choice
Issue / Date: No 473 / March 2021
Reviewer: Neville Roberts

NORDOST HEIMDALL 2 POWER CORD

With the Heimdall 2 in my valve preamp power supply, Dave Brubeck’s Unsquare Dance is spectacularly reproduced with the crisp and sharp drum-taps and hand-claps in perfect sync with the bassline and piano. With Take Five the breathtakingly real saxophone appears in the middle of my listening room. All the instrument images are perfect and the double- bass, which is taut and full, balances perfectly with the piano and drums…. ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

READ MORE

Publication: Hi-Fi Choice
Issue / Date: June 2021
Reviewer: Neville Roberts

NORDOST NORSE 2 BI WIRE JUMPERS

The Norse 2 [Bi-Wire Jumper]…matches its task very well, offering all the refinement you would expect from a set of high-end cables and so is a sensible upgrade to the metal links fitted to so many speakers . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Hi-Fi Choice
Issue / Date: No 473 / March 2021
Reviewer: Neville Roberts

NORDOST FREY 2 SPEAKER CABLES, INTERCONNECTS AND POWER CORDS

The Nordost cables get out of the way of the music and the environment in which it was recorded. The focus is in the quality playback and not the cables elbowing for top billing. As such, they have outstanding . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Audiophilia
Date: September 11, 2020
Reviewer: Anthony Kershaw

NORDOST HEIMDALL 2 TONEARM CABLE +

I am really drawn into the musicality of the performance, which is both energetic and refined…The instrument focus and clarity are both excellent and the soundstage is expansive…the bass is powerful and punchy and the drums and hi-hats are crisp, tight and engaging…I can’t fault the performance of the Heimdall 2, it’s a safe . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Hi-Fi Choice
Issue: 465
Reviewer: Neville Roberts

NORDOST TYR 2 INTERCONNECT, SPEAKER, AND POWER CABLES – TRANSPARENCY, PURITY, TEXTURE

. . . transparency, precision, purity, depth, texture, openness, expansiveness…Nordost’s Tyr 2 loom brings all of this and more to the listening experience. Yet as I wrap up these thoughts another word now pops to mind that perhaps best sums up my analogy between . . .

READ MORE

Publication: The Absolute Sound 
Date: April 30, 2020
Reviewer: Wayne Garcia

DIE KOMPLETTE KABEL-FAMILIE IM TEST: NORDOST TYR 2

Er- staunt ertappte ich mich eines Tages bei der Beobachtung, dass die Musik vom Computer immer dann hervorragend klingt, wenn Nordosts Tyr 2-Verbindung im Einsatz ist. Fast zwangsweise inte- grierte ich in der Folge die Cinch- und Lautsprecherkabel der Familie in meine Anlage, dann . . .

READ MORE

Publication: hifi & records
Date: January 2020
Reviewer: Olaf Strum
Language: Deutsch (German)

NORDOST HEIMDALL 2 TONEARM CABLE

Was it just 'different'? No. There was definitely a sense of 'more' from the Heimdall. The lower frequencies were more abundant, the upper ones cleaner and the soundstage had more depth and width . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Stereonet UK Edition
Date: October 14, 2019
Reviewer: Jay Garrett

NORDOST HEIMDALL 2 HEADPHONE CABLE

While speaker cable upgrades are fairly common, the humble headphone wire is often overlooked. Nordost’s Heimdall 2 is such an upgrade and here I have the version suitable for my Sennheiser HD 800 S headphone (HFC 439) to compare it with the cable that comes as standard . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Hi-Fi Choice
Issue: 440
Reviewer: Neville Roberts

HEADPHONE CABLES — NORDOST BLUE HEAVEN AND HEIMDALL 2

Nordost needs no introduction in the high-end audio world, but enthusiasts whose interests center on loudspeaker-based hi-fi systems may be surprised to learn that the Holliston, Massachusetts, company is now offering two ranges of specialized headphone signal cables. The top offering is the Heimdall 2 headphone cable (or headphone cable system), while . . .

READ MORE

Publication: the absolute sound
Date: October 2017
Reviewer: Chris Martens

NF- UND LAUTSPRECHERKABEL NORDOST TYR2 — DIREKTE VERBINDUNG

Auf den Punkt gebracht Die Tyr2-Kabel stellen in der Tat eine direkte Verbindung zwischen Musik und Hörer her. Getreu dem Motto „Die kürzeste Verbindung zwischen zwei beliebigen Punkten ist eine Gerade“ klingen sie absolut „straight“. Famos! . . .

READ MORE

Publication: HIFI-STARS
Issue / Date: Ausgabe 36, September – November 2017
Reviewer: Wolfgang Vogel
Language: Deutsch (German)

NORDOST SPEKTAKULÄRA SUPERKABLAR

Högtalarkablar lever farligt. De har ett rätt knivigt jobb jämfört med de lugna arbetsbetingelserna för lågnivåkablar med sina väl definierade impedanser och signalnivåer. Där kan signalöverföringen göras hyggligt förlustfri.  För högtalarkablarna är det precis tvärt om. Här är det mer som hela havet stormar med svajig högtalarimpedans . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Hifi & Musik
Date: May 2017
Reviewer: Mats Meyer-Lie
Language: Svenska (Swedish)

NETZKABEL NORDOST TYR2 – VON GROSSER BEDEUTUNG

In Top-Anlagen ist das Netzkabel „Nordost Tyr2“ von großer Wirkung – ganz so, als habe da je- mand den Stromhahn erstmals richtig aufgedreht: Hoch- und höchstwertigen Stereokombinationen verleiht es das letzte „Etwas“ an Energie und Finesse – je besser die Gerätezusammenstellung, desto mehr lebt die Musik . . .

READ MORE

Publication: HIFI-STARS
Issue / Date: ISSN 1867-5166 Ausgabe 34 März 2017- Mai 2017
Reviewer: Wolfgang Vogel
Language: Deutsch (German)

NORDOST TYR 2 CABLE SYSTEM REVIEW

The Nordost’s performance continued to improve past the 120-hour break-in to the extent that not only the bottom-end held more definition, the midrange to top-end became opened up and provided more detail as well. Rendition of the choir singing in the FIM K2 HD edition of the audiophile-standard Proprius . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Dagogo
Date: December 2016
Reviewer: Constantine Soo

NORDOST FREY 2 SPEAKER CABLE AND INTERCONNECTS – EVOLVING AND IMPROVING

Recently upgraded, Frey 2 cable is the sweet-spot wire of Nordost’s mid-priced Norse 2 collection. In truth it’s actually only one player in a much larger bloodline that, in its complexity, begins to resemble the competing factions in Game of Thrones—the addictive HBO series overflowing with in- trigue, swords, and sex. And like . . .

READ MORE

Publication: the absolute sound
Date: September 2016
Reviewer: Neil Gader

DIE SEELE DES KLANGS »KABEL-FAMILIE NORDOST FREY 2«

Es gibt eine Beziehung zwischen Klang und Seele. Davon scheint zumindest eine recht neue Gattung unter den eher populär orientierten Sachbüchern überzeugt. In einem von ihnen erzählt die amerikanische Journalistin Perri Knize »die Geschichte einer Leidenschaft«, nämlich die ihre zur Musik und . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Hifi & Records
Date: August 2016
Reviewer: Uwe Steiner
Language: Deutsch (German)

HI-FI VIDEO: NORDOST’S HEIMDALL 2 4K UHD CABLE

Through the first twenty years of my life, the greatest change in entertainment technology was the switch from over-the-air TV -- with its grand total of four channels -- to cable, which bestowed all of 24 channels, some from exotic, faraway places like Atlanta and Chicago. Contrast this state of affairs with . . .

READ MORE

Publication: The Audio Beat
Date: April 26, 2016
Reviewer: Marc Mickelson

A CLEAR ADVANTAGE — GOING UP THE RANGE WITH NORDOST

Other than fringy room treatments and other various bizarre system tweaks, nothing arouses more anger, controversy and naysaying than the thought of cable, especially premium audio cables. Those subscribing to the religion of ABX testing pretty much claim everything sounds the same and wire is . . .

READ MORE

Publication: TONEAudio
Issue / Date: No.76 March 2016
Reviewer: TONE Staff

OUTFITTING AN AUDIO SYSTEM WITH NORDOST NORSE 2 TYR 2 CABLES AND QRT QBASE POWER DISTRIBUTION

Your system could be comprised of highly capable components but in order to maximize their performance – and deliver the depth and nuances found in live musical performances – you will need to connect them with good quality cables and provide them with clean power.  Nordost has a history dating back to 1991 and . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Canada HiFi
Date: November 9, 2015
Reviewer: Suave Kajko

NORDOST NORSE 2  TYR 2 SPEAKER CABLES, INTERCONNECTS, AND POWER CORDS

I didn’t expect to hear much difference in sound quality from the Tyrs, considering both speaker cables were made by the same manufacturer. I hoped for a bit more of everything: some more bass extension, or a cleaner treble; either would have been nice. The last thing I expected was a change in the music’s overall sound. I know: the Tyr 2 speaker cable is twice . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Soundstage Ultra
Date: October 15, 2015
Reviewer: Jason Thorpe

NORDOST HEIMDALL HEADPHONE CABLE

Nordost. Seems that these days Nordost is everywhere. Norse 2 series? Check. Valhalla 2 series? Check. Odin 2? Check. Headphone cables? Check. HDMI cables? Check. You get my point. All made in America, all made with engineering in mind, all made with guaranteed pride of ownership. Mind you, all of these upgrades to series 2 as well as . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Posi+ive Feedback
Date: August 3, 2015
Reviewer: Danny Kaey

AUDITIONING NORDOST CABLES: DO SPEAKER CABLES HAVE A 'SOUND'?

It's a safe bet that your speaker cables don't look like Nordost's ultra-flat cables. Founded in 1991, Nordost is a high-technology cable manufacturer using conductor technology that was initially developed for the aerospace industry. Nordost designs and builds all of its audio, digital and video cables in its facilities in . . .

READ MORE

Publication: CNET
Date: July 25, 2015
Reviewer: Steve Guttenberg

UPGRADING AN AUDIO SYSTEM WITH NORDOST NORSE 2 HEIMDALL CABLE

Heimdall (properly pronounced as “HYM-doll”) is the Old Norse god who vigilantly guards Asgard, the heavenly realm of the mighty Norse gods, including Odin and Thor. If you’ve seen the Marvel Comics Thor movie series, you’ll recall Heimdall as the austere character that stands guard on the rainbow bridge Bifröst. What does this have to do with . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Canada HiFi
Date: October/November 2014
Reviewer: George de Sa

NORDOST HEIMDALL 2 HEADPHONE CABLE

In the big picture, 35 years is an insignificant amount of time, but in terms of high-end audio, it's an eternity. Give or take a year, it was three and a half decades ago that alternatives to lamp cord — like Monster, Kimber, Polk Cobra and Fulton cables — starting stirring the flat-earthers into fits of disbelief at the idea that speaker cables could . . .

READ MORE

Publication: The Audio Beat
Date: October 8, 2014
Reviewer: Dennis Davis

NORDOST - A "SYSTEM" OF PRODUCTS

The online dictionary defines system as: the unity of several elements working together to achieve a goal. Wait, what's that have to do with Nordost? Quite a bit—permit me to explain: over the years, Hi-Fi has seen its share of "systems," Linn, Naim, anyone? Typically, we have associated these system approaches within the context of the entire audio ecosystem, i.e. start to . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Positive Feedback
Issue / Date: Issue 69 September-October 2013
Reviewer: Danny Kaey

NORDOST - FREY 2 SPEAKER CABLES, INTERCONNECTS, AND POWER CABLES

My first proper review for the SoundStage! Network was in 2011, of Nordost’s then brand- new line of Leif cables — specifically, the LS Blue Heaven models. I was so impressed by how significant a change they wrought in my system’s sound that I bought the review samples. Almost three years later, I still make frequent use of the Blue Heavens, as the . . .

READ MORE

Publication: SoundStage! Hi-Fi
Date: March 2014
Reviewer: Hans Wetzel

NORDOST NORSE CABLES: HEIMDALL 2

Following the revised Leif series (Red Dawn, Blue Heaven et al), Nordost has stepped up the process of revising its line. The Norse series of cables from Nordost, comprising Heimdall, Frey and Tyr, were next, followed more recently by Valhalla 2, which will be the subject of a later review. Sitting below the ‘reference’ Valhalla, V2, and the Odin übercables, the Norse series is . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Hi-Fi+
Issue: Issue 106
Reviewer: Steve Dickinson

CABLES SECTION: THIS MONTH PAUL RIGBY LOOKS AT NORDOST CABLES

"You love 'em or hate 'em. Cables raise some people's hackles, but Hi-Fi World readers tell us repeatedly cables improve their sound and are a great upgrade. So here we are with Loudspeaker cables, interconnects and mains cables, as well as accessories such as connecting blocks in a dedicated section. If you hate 'em - don't look. But if you love 'em you . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Hi-Fi World
Date: August 2013
Reviewer: Paul Rigby

NORSE SERIES BI-WIRE JUMPERS

Several years ago I had the pleasure to review the recently introduced Frey speaker cables by Nordost. Frey proved to be the finest, most transparent speaker cables I have ever listened to in my system. Unfortunately, even with a manufacturer's discount, the Frey cables were prohibitively expensive. Nevertheless, I soldiered on with my reference single run of . . .

READ MORE

Publication: Positive Feedback 
Issue / Date: Issue 51  Sept/Oct 2010
Reviewer: Victor Chavira

Find a Nordost Dealer